General Admissions & OTCAS Should an Entry level OT degree move to a doctorate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Audrina McKenzie

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently an MOT student in the last semester before becoming an OTR. We are doing a debate on whether an entry level OT should become a doctorate or stay a Master's. I would appreciate it if you guys could give me some feedback on your beliefs and explain why you think it should or shouldn't. Thank you!! :)

Members don't see this ad.

I don't think so. I personally think PT made a mistake with this move and only did it for the purpose of "status" within the healthcare community. If students are really excited about research and the occupational science side of the profession, then I say go for it. But if not, it doesn't seem worth it.

no I think that's ridiculous especially if the intent is to become a clinician. I've worked with amazing OT's who only have Bachelors degrees--a doctorates to me just seems like another way for schools to suck even more money out of us.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think the word "doctorate" is a misnomer here. It's really only an additional year of study, and the good programs already emphasize research. I don't mean to be derogatory, but a professional doctorate is not the same as an academic doctorate (PhD), which is a true research/teaching doctorate. I would think that someone who has a true interest in research/teaching should pursue a PhD in OS. Wasn't OS established in order to provide OT with a true academic research foundation?