Should I apply for early acceptance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sirdude

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will be applying starting this summer and would like to know if most people try to get an early acceptance or not. I was thinking about applying to MUSC for early acceptance and I am a SC resident. What should be the factors that weigh my decision whether or not to do it or to just apply with everyone else on the regular date??

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I will be applying starting this summer and would like to know if most people try to get an early acceptance or not. I was thinking about applying to MUSC for early acceptance and I am a SC resident. What should be the factors that weigh my decision whether or not to do it or to just apply with everyone else on the regular date??

Thanks!

Your Stats

and ofcourse whether you want to go somewhere else.

I think that this school would be my first choice in that I do like it and I have a good chance of getting in.

As for my stats they are right around the average for their acceptance, plus the advisor already told me I could surely get an interview...

Members don't see this ad :)
I think that this school would be my first choice in that I do like it and I have a good chance of getting in.

As for my stats they are right around the average for their acceptance, plus the advisor already told me I could surely get an interview...

Here's a couple reasons both for and against:

Pros:
1) You apply early, get your decision early, and if you're in, you're in way before others!
2) You save a ton of cash by not adding as many schools on AMCAS and not sending in as many secondaries and not going on as many interviews.
3) You save tons of time by not doing as many secondaries and not going on as many interviews
4) You will be reviewed before the adcom members start getting grouchy from looking at so many applications