Medical Should I apply to match this year?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlteredScale

Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a non-traditional medical student. I have worked in health care for a few years prior to medical school. I worked very hard during medical school to ranked within top 10 of my class with +240 step one and +250 step 2. I am planning to apply to a very competitive specialty. I even took a research year to boost my application. Overall, I think I am a very competitive applicant for this specialty...until I found out I failed STEP 2 CS SEP section. I spoke to people at my school and everyone did not think I should have failed SEP. I lived in USA since I was 14 years old for 16 years and with my years of working experience in healthcare, I was devastated to find out that I failed step 2 CS because of SEP. After researching on SEP, it seems like there is inconsistency between SPs among testing centers with people who have accent. I did not feel like I was graded with fairness. Nonetheless, I am trying to improve my communication and plan to retake when the test is resumed. However, I am not positive that I will be able to retake with a passing score prior to ERAS, so I have a big decision to make. I spoke with people at my school and they told me to go ahead and apply, but I am scared. I have never failed any medical school tests. Indeed, I honored all my first and second years classes, and 3/8 core rotations during third year. This is disheartening that all my hard work, time and efforts were discredited because of this one test, that has been challenged for years for its validity. I strongly feel I was not graded fairly, and it does not represent who I am.

Most residencies will require a passing step 2 CS score prior to ranking in March. That timing may be completely off this year given the covid situation.