Should I attend my II?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1140367

I would like to preface this by saying I am extremely appreciative for my II and being able to even consider this career path.

I have just received an II from LECOM Bradenton. I am a Florida resident and applied to both LECOM Bradenton and NSU really just because they were located in Florida. I did not do my research on these schools beforehand, and did not realize that LECOM Bradenton has you set up your own rotations, and that NSU is on Goro's list of schools he does not recommend due to their declining COMLEX scores. Furthermore, when I applied I had my heart set on primary care, however since then I have shadowed an orthopedic surgeon and have absolutely fallen in love with it. I've thus started to care more about the location of the school and the opportunities for networking that it would provide.

I tried to do my research on the match results from these schools, but most of the data I have found is from pre residency merger and pre Step 1 being pass fail. Since these two occurrences, I believe the school I attend will matter a lot more, no? Additionally, I understand that, if this is my only acceptance and I decide not to take it, I would be blacklisted from all med schools. My grades are good (3.7 GPA and 511 MCAT) but I mentioned some things in my primary application that could be misinterpreted and I also feel my secondaries for the schools I really want to go to (CCOM, PCOM, and MSUCOM) are rather weak. Therefore, I believe blundered my chances at these schools. I know I can be a much stronger applicant and have a better chance at getting into one of these schools next year with tweaking of my essays and more volunteering.