Should I Even Bother Applying to Mt. Sinai HuMed Program??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thefranchize

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. So I'm a rising sophomore at an Ivy and am thinking of applying to the Mount Sinai Humanities and Medicine program this fall. (I mention the type of school because supposedly, they like people from ivies.) I don't know if I'll cut it. So far I have a 3.3 GPA and nontrad EC's (performing arts). I'm majoring in anthropology. I was born in the Caribbean. I'm currently doing health disparities research, and hope to get published (crosses fingers). However, I don't know if I should even apply and waste money and time. Most people have told me that it's worth a try, but I'm seriously considering just not applying and busting my butt throughout the rest of my undergrad so I can have at least a 3.7 GPA and better EC's. The average GPA for those accepted to the program is 3.77 and SATs are >1400. (mine are high 1300s Cr + Math) What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone. So I'm a rising sophomore at an Ivy and am thinking of applying to the Mount Sinai Humanities and Medicine program this fall. (I mention the type of school because supposedly, they like people from ivies.) I don't know if I'll cut it. So far I have a 3.3 GPA and nontrad EC's (performing arts). I'm majoring in anthropology. I was born in the Caribbean. I'm currently doing health disparities research, and hope to get published (crosses fingers). However, I don't know if I should even apply and waste money and time. Most people have told me that it's worth a try, but I'm seriously considering just not applying and busting my butt throughout the rest of my undergrad so I can have at least a 3.7 GPA and better EC's. The average GPA for those accepted to the program is 3.77 and SATs are >1400. (mine are high 1300s Cr + Math) What do you guys think?