Should I get a Bach/Mast in Public Health or a Bach in Science?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I go with Option 1 or 2?

• Total voters

kesher

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman at a large state school and I'm also in the honors program. Through honors, we can get a Bachelor's/Master's dual degree in four years in a variety of majors. One of the choices is Public Health. I have an interest in public health, so this was appealing to me. However, I can still explore my interest for Public Health without getting a Master's degree by getting a certificate (in between a minor and a major) in Global Health. Basically, the question is: Would option #1 or option #2 be better for admission to medical school? I really like the idea of getting an MPH degree by the time I'm 22 (I'd rather not pursue one for another 2 years after I get my Bachelor's because I'll already be old enough by the time I start making a living). However, at the same time, I really want to study Genetics because I fell in love with science before I knew I was passionate about medicine.

(1) Genetics (B.S.), Global Health (certificate), Spanish (minor)
(2) Public Health (Bachelor's/Master's), Spanish (minor)

P.S. I came in with a ton of AP credits which exempted most of my Gen Ed stuff. That's why I'm able to complete so much coursework.

Members don't see this ad.