• A new admissions hurdle is becoming more common: the CASPer test. Learn more about it at a free webinar hosted by SDN and PrepMatch on May 6th. Register now!
  • Livestream AMA: Join SDN as we welcome Dr. John Ligon, a Pediatric Oncologist with the National Cancer Institute on May 11th at 8:00 PM Eastern. Register now!
Feb 10, 2021
Hi, I’m kinda looking for some advice.

I’m a freshman in college and I’ve been set on doing medicine since I was probably in middle school. Part of it is because my dad wants me to but I also just so happen to really do like and enjoy medicine. And I find that I’m really good with biology and health sciences lol.

So my gpa and drive to learn isn’t the problem. It’s more so the fact that I can’t seem to land any scholarships, volunteer programs or shadowing spots. Idk if it’s because of the fact that I don’t know how this works, I don’t know anybody in the field. I have absolutely no connections and not being able to get close with professors because of covid is really I guess hurting my chances? So that really sucks. And then having my friends kinda rub the fact that they have research spots or parents who work in the medical field so they’re able to secure spots makes me feel even worse.

Some friends have offered some help, but they always forget or stop mentioning it after a while.

Should I just give up and try something else before I waste anymore money and time on a field that I have no real chance at making it in?

Sorry if this is kinda depressing or all over the place. I’m just in a really bad spot right now. Thanks.

Aug 16, 2019
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
Freshman, no - too young, lots of time to recover. Self-educate on what it takes to get in. Google, use this place. Only give up after you have assessed as much info as possible from a variety of resources and it still feels hopeless. I still say, even then there is still a way. So, if this is what you want, don't give up now, don't give up later.