should I give up?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
K

Kal Gall

Hi Everyone,

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Everyone,

So I am currently a sophomore pre-med. After a tough year (various family problems) I will be ending this year with three failed classes (two of which are sciences). I am planning on retaking both of them next year but I'm wondering if at this point it is too late. Should I give up?

If you are only a sophomore and are shaken by this I think you need reevaluate your career options because medicine requires a thick skin. That said, aacomas allows you to retake and substitute grades. Many folks on here have failed courses are currently sitting as first years.

Dont let this deter you, if you want it bad enough youll find a way, if not youll find an excuse.

No one on sdn can decide for you but only you. Wish you the best.

If you are only a sophomore and are shaken by this I think you need reevaluate your career options because medicine requires a thick skin. That said, aacomas allows you to retake and substitute grades. Many folks on here have failed courses are currently sitting as first years.

Dont let this deter you, if you want it bad enough youll find a way, if not youll find an excuse.

No one on sdn can decide for you but only you. Wish you the best.

Thank you for your reply! I'm mostly just shaken because I know that medicine is right for me. I just fear not getting into medical school. With the grade replacement, do they still see the F's?

Members don't see this ad :)
It's not too late. I know from both personal and anecdotal experience that people have come back from worse. It's going to be a lot more difficult than it was before, given that there's almost no margin for error from here on out. Retake your classes, work hard, and skill your MCAT. Nothing is entirely out of reach yet, if you genuinely want to be a physician.