Should I major in Biology or Chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EpicDentist

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a high school student looking to eventually go into the dental/ortho field. I know that you can major in anything, but what do you feel better prepares you for the future in dentistry & DAT's? Biology or chemistry?

Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Bio b/c I think the upper level classes are more relevant. Plus chem is generally harder for most people.

Bio, because it will help you in so many ways!

Members don't see this ad :)
The schools say you can major in anything for a good reason: all schools have a set of prerequisites that you need to fulfill, no matter what your major is. In that sense, you're equally prepared for dental school. However, your course load in college becomes "easier" if you're some sort of biology, chemistry, or biochemistry major, because you are satisfying prerequisites at the same time as you are satisfying graduation requirements. Depending on when you take those classes, the prerequisites should also give you a good foundation for DAT preparation.

I would say it depends on what your undergrad offers. But between the two the op posted I would say Bioc :)

Bio, def. Def. take some anatomy classes during undergrad. it will help you alot when u enter dental school. anatomy seems to be the hardest thing at my school right now for most people.

my major is biochemistry and molecular biology. you should major in that (but i'm partial to it)