Should I quit my job in pursuit of better ECs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thechasman

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to first thank all of you who participate on the forums. You have helped me tremendously already by providing valuable information in regards to the medical school application process.

Let me start with one of my questions and then I will provide some relevant information. Should I quit my job and look for work in a bigger city doing some more relevant clinical work, or should I take advantage of the large chunks of time I have in my current position to prepare for the MCAT?

I graduated three years ago from college where I consistently volunteered, was an academic all-American athlete, and conducted independent research not related to medicine. I am currently living in a rural county that I thoroughly enjoy. I have a job that provides me great flexibility, but it is isolating and hardly related to medicine. I was volunteering at a group home for at-risk youth until recently. The woman who ran the home passed away in February, which terminated the program. I now provide bereavement support for her husband and another man who lost his wife in hospice. Unfortunately these are the only clinical type related activities that I currently partake besides shadowing a local physician and observing surgeries on Youtube.