Should i retake??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ysitbon

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I would retake! With your GPA if you could get to a 24/25 you would be in a much more secure place. Only retake though if you have time to fully prepare and study.

Did you study much for the first time?

Members don't see this ad :)
You could apply as a URM and try your luck. But having two subscores under an 8 is worrisome to most schools

Hi Everyone!!
Well i just got my MCAT score back and I got 7,6,8 (21 total).
My under gpa is 3.4, and i received my bachelor in neuroscience from UCLA.
Will apply as an african american.

I have lots of research in 2 neuro labs and volunteered for over a year in the ucla hospital.
I currently work as a clinical assistant for a spine surgeon.

What are my chances?
Should i retake the MCAT? ( I know it's my weakest point)

Thanks everybody!!

Yes, I think you should retake. Do you want to stay in CA? Touro-CA and Western both like higher MCATs.

If you don't care which school you attend then I think you have a chance at the newer schools

You really should not be accepted with a 21. No one should.

Reactions: 6 users
You really should not be accepted with a 21. No one should.

This maybe harsh, but I agree with it to some extent. Besides, with a score of 21, there's plenty of room for improvement. Heck, if you improve each section by 1 point only, your chances will be much, much better.

Take it from someone who improved his score by 8 points.

Reactions: 1 users
People got accepted to M.D. with 21, so why OP should not get into D.O. with the same score?

If you tried your hardest and the best you can do is a 21 after multiple attempts I do not think you should be a doctor, MD or DO. You are going to have a rough time with boards and I'd be surprised if you ever become a good diagnostician.