Should I stay enrolled/add a minor for instead of graduating?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

buckmd0704

Reaction score
Currently, I'm a sophomore who can graduate this spring thanks to dual enrollment prereqs taken at my state school (that I currently attend). But the conundrum is, in high school when I took most of my science courses such as ochem, gen chem, biology, physics, I luckily ended with a 4.0. However, my first semesters in college taking the more focused major courses haven't been so great comparatively speaking (freshman year: 3.6 sophomore year: 3.7). Even though my cumulative gpa is still fine: 3.8x, would it look weird to only have 2 years of grades that were subpar in college compared to high school (somewhat of a downward trend)? And, should I stay enrolled by adding a minor with more coursework that could show more of a solid gpa in college? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It will be fine. Only do a minor if it interests you, not for med school.

More important would be getting clinical experience and helping those less fortunate in the community outside of an academic setting. This is a major aspect that students often lack if they graduated early or applied in their junior year.

Agree, go ahead and graduate unless you wish to extend your college experiences for reasons unrelated to medical school. Your GPA is totally fine for basically any medical school, focus your attention on the MCAT and the other experiences you will need to get in.