should I stay or should I go?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

manicguacamole

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I have been reading these forums for a while now; this is my first post. I wanted your opinions on a dilemma I've been wrestling with. I am now a 4th year medical student applying for a pathology residency. The institution I'm at now is a university-based tertiary-care center. It handles around 15,000 surgical and 16,000 cytology specimens a year. The program here has around 10 residents, who seem pretty happy. I suppose this is a better program than would be found at a community-based hospital, but as far as I know it is not in any way a prestigious place to train. I'm pretty much guaranteed a spot at this institution, and I have very strong family reasons to stay here. So my question is, how much would my training and future competitiveness for fellowships and such be hindered by training at a place that is not a well-known pathology program? I think I would be a competitive candidate for, if not first-tier, at least fairly decent programs (good clinical and pre-clinical grades, USMLE 240s.) However, because of my family situation, I'd really like to stay here for residency. (I'd likely be able to go elsewhere for fellowships.)

I thought I'd just see if anyone had any thoughts on this. I know I'm being vague, which might make offering advice harder. I'm certainly willing to read a lot and study hard, but I'm worried that I might not see the variety of things one might elsewhere. How much of residency is learning from a text versus from experience with cases? Anyway, any input anyone has would be appreciated.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.