SLOE Questions

Discussion in 'Emergency Medicine' started by AlwaysOnDivert, Mar 18, 2017.

1. SDN is made possible through member donations, sponsorships, and our volunteers. Learn about SDN's nonprofit mission.
  1. AlwaysOnDivert

AlwaysOnDivert

Jan 20, 2017
    Apologies if this question has already been asked, or if I'm posting in the wrong forum.

I'm a 3rd year DO student, been planning on going EM before even getting into med school. To keep my options open, I'm planning on doing 4th year rotations at both MD and DO programs. Will MD programs accept SLOEs obtained from a DO program? Will they be given less weight if they aren't from an MD program? Will DO programs accept MD SLOEs?

Thanks for taking the time to read/respond!

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. BoardingDoc

BoardingDoc Don't worry. I've got my towel. 7+ Year Member

Feb 23, 2010
    Physician
    If you are rotating at an MD EM program, they will write a SLOE for you after your rotation is over. If you rotate at a DO EM program, you can get a regular letter, but they are not allowed to write SLOEs.

4. AlwaysOnDivert

AlwaysOnDivert

Jan 20, 2017
    Is this also true for DO programs that have accreditation or "Initial Accreditation" status from the ACGME? Still trying to sort out how the merger affects various things.

5. BoardingDoc

Feb 23, 2010
    Physician
    If they're ACGME accredited, they can write SLOEs. I don't know about initial accreditation

6. gamerEMdoc

gamerEMdoc Associate PD; EM Clerkship Director Gold Donor

Feb 10, 2016
    Physician
    Faculty