Small Bowel Obstruction - how long until you see?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jolie South

is invoking Domo. . .
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my dad is in what I can only presume is a crappy community hospital with a “partial small bowel obstruction.” He has been in house over 24 hours. I call up today to find out about his status and if the surgeon has seen him and >24 hours after admission, still yet to set foot to see my dad.

So maybe I’m being an overly concerned daughter who knows too much, but like really, >24 hours to see a consult for a small bowel obstruction? I am not out in practice but even as a chief resident, I never trusted the ER and would always see those sooner rather than later to rule out badness. Because to me either it’s not concerning at all or needs an operation and ER docs frequently don’t know the difference or miss an important point in the H&P or on the scan.

What time frame do you feel comfortable sitting on a small bowel obstruction consult?

Members don't see this ad.

Not sure if I'm at a crappy community hospital or not but all have staff rules about consults which state patients must be seen within 24 hrs.

I do raise the possibility that the surgeon was never actually notified. All of my partners and I have that happen from time to time.

But Im with you on both fronts: consults especially possibly operative ones need to be seen ASAP and I wouldn't trust the EP to make that decision. How long? Depends on lots of factors including whether I can " see" patient from home by reviewing imaging. Etc, would

So my dad is in what I can only presume is a crappy community hospital with a “partial small bowel obstruction.” He has been in house over 24 hours. I call up today to find out about his status and if the surgeon has seen him and >24 hours after admission, still yet to set foot to see my dad.