Social Worker with dumb questions about Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

christinehall94

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello new friends, I recently had a quarter life crisis and have decide to explore changing my career path! I am currently a social worker working with child protective services for the state and while I love my job, I want to do more and re-chase my original plan of med school that I had when I was 18 before my mental health plummetted my first year of school and I had to transfer.

I am graduated with a 3.62 GPA with several science classes from before I switched to social work but I essentially need to retake everything because it has been several years (I'm 24). My GPA from my final two years of college was a 4.0 but I was also not taking any science courses at the time (made a 1.5 my second semester of school due to mental health and it tanked my GPA). I am nearby WashU and have a good enough GPA to be considered for their postbacc program, but it is expensive and I could take the same courses at the state univerity also located in St. Louis. Is it worth the extra money to go to an official program and such a prestigious school or does it really matter?

Second questions, I planned to continue my job with CPS until I theoretically am accepted into med school. Does working a social work Child Welfare job look as good as volunteer work? I plan to get connected to one of the many hospitals I work with as a social worker to get some shadowing in.. I'm genuinely clueless. I've been researching for about a month at this and I know I need to get something on my resume that shows commitment to medicine, I'm just not sure what the most helpful thing would be. I don't have a ton of free time so I can't pursue EVERYTHING all at once if I'll be doing post-bacc and working full time too.