sodium bicarb IV bags - any better solutions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rxconquistador

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I work in a hospital pharmacy.

We make tons of IV bags with 8.4% sodium bicarb. However, we have to draw it out of a 50ml single dose.

I was told that they looked into it a while ago and mfg didn't sell larger bottles.

Does anyone work in a hospital pharmacy that makes IVs that has a better solution?

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

You can look into having a compounding pharmacy compound bicarb bags for you in bulk. At the hospital I work at we do this for oxytocin bags, diluadid, etc. However, for us it wouldn't work for bicarb because how they are ordered varies greatly, but the case might be different where you work.

I've been an IV compounder for about two years. There is too much variation in the fluids, some need NS, some 1/2NS, some 50 meq, 100 meq, 150 meq. There is just too much variation to stock all of those, for us atleast.

Just use a 60cc syringe, flip it, press the plunger on the hood, and let the positive pressure do the work for you. It takes like 20 seconds max.

Members don't see this ad :)
I work at an admixture pharmacy, and our supplier has 50 and 500ml vials of sodium bicarb...

250 ml or 500 ml would be perfect size. If you have a chance could you post which drug company makes it. Thanks!

We use 250 ml sodium chloride 23.4% and can just hang that upside down in the hood with a syringe attached and easily draw out doses to put in the IV bags throughout the day. Switching out the 250 bottles with the apparatus is easy. And time saver espeically for the CVVH.

I would love, love, love to do the same with sodium bicarb.

Thanks for the responses.