Sophomore Looking for a Critique

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
G

gatornick

Hey all,

I am looking for some advice on my strengths and weaknesses that I have gathered so far in my college career. I would really appreciate it someone could give me advise on what else I need to accomplish to really boost my resume and give me a solid shot at medical school. I am currently a sophomore attending the University of Florida.

Highlights:

4.0 GPA currently with 59 credits
45 hours volunteering in the Neurosurgical Specialities Clinic at Shands Hospital
30+ hours misc volunteering
15+ hours teaching underprivileged children
100+ hours in clinical research - currently researching VO2 max's of firefighters and how it affects their rates of death on duty from cardiovascular disease
Starting to co-author a publication on this study which will hopefully be published
Went on a medical mission trip to Peru last summer with the Foundation for the International Medical Relief of Children
President's Honor Roll
Golden Key International Honor Society
Phi Eta Sigma Honor Society of the University of Florida
Active member of the Pre-Professional Student Organization and looking to run for an office position in the spring
Worked in an animal hospital for two summers during high school

This is the jist of what my resume currently consists of. Are there any areas that I am lacking in? And what are the typical number of hours applicants have in the volunteering, research, and teaching departments?

Thanks a lot!
Nick

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all,

I am looking for some advice on my strengths and weaknesses that I have gathered so far in my college career. I would really appreciate it someone could give me advise on what else I need to accomplish to really boost my resume and give me a solid shot at medical school. I am currently a sophomore attending the University of Florida.

Highlights: