South Carolina MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

uscems

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I would like to know how I weigh up vs. my competition.

I am a resident and student in South Carolina. I will be applying to MUSC, USC, and USC Greenville in-state as well as others OOS and several DO schools (VCOM-CC). I am also able to apply to MCG as an in-state applicant due to my specific residence in SC. One of the allopathic schools is my first choice.

Major: Bio
App. cycle: Matriculate 2014

cGPA: 3.45
sGPA: 3.40
MCAT: 30

My grades show an extremely strong upward trend and the only reason the GPAs are so low is thanks to my freshmen year.(very obvious on transcipt)

EC's:
EMT/First Responder on campus at university
2+ years of 911-EMS experience as an EMT-B/Crew chief in a high call volume area.
Shadowed several EM physicians for a total of 200+ hours
Traveled to MGH to shadow and volunteer in ER & OR
Volunteer at local medical clinic checking vitals, etc...
AED fundraiser chair
Many other organizations & volunteer work.

I will have strong LORs from profs, MDs, and current employers.

My personal statement is stellar.

Thanks in advance for honesty

Members don't see this ad.

Will this semester's grades increase your GPA? S or C?

Are you a junior? If so, then I suggest a glide year and raise your GPA.

Are you male or female?

Will this semester's grades increase your GPA? S or C?

Are you a junior? If so, then I suggest a glide year and raise your GPA.

Are you male or female?
W Male. Junior. With plans to apply this cycle.

Gpa will increase this semester. Especially sgpa. Taking all science.

More advanced: My freshmen gpa was <3.0. Since then it has averaged around 3.8.(c)&(s)

Members don't see this ad :)
W Male. Junior. With plans to apply this cycle.

Gpa will increase this semester. Especially sgpa. Taking all science.