Spanish as a Pre Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ad5858

Reaction score
Hello!

I hope that whoever gets to this email is having a great summer.

Here’s my background to help inform you best of my current situation: I’m currently a rising sophomore at a competitive university majoring in Biochemistry. I’ve had pretty extensive research experience at a chemical lab here at school (hundreds of hours throughout last year), 40+ hours of medical shadowing this summer, a solid volunteering portfolio, and a 4.0 cumulative GPA (as of right now). I also co-founded a small startup venture in the EdTech space.

I’m extremely interested in pursuing an MD after college and have always been drawn to medicine as a career. As such, of course, I want to maximize my chances of getting into a medical school.

In effect, I’ve been so torn with the decision to stop taking Spanish classes for two reasons. First of all, I feel that if I am able to stick it out and retain a high grade point in that class, I could have a real capability to provide patients from Spanish-speaking countries with the best possible care. Secondly, I thought that I could portray this intention on my medical school applications and I may stand out if I had, for example, six semesters of Spanish under my belt.

However, after shadowing, it’s clear to me that hospitals are generally required to have in-house translators anyways! Even though one of the docs I shadowed could speak Spanish himself as well, he defaulted to the translator out of fear of saying something wrong (honestly, that seems like a liability!) when a patient came in who was native to that language. Furthermore, my Spanish speaking abilities are quite well developed already primarily in the conversational standpoint, and I can’t imagine I’ll be writing essays in Spanish to my patients one day down the line.