Spouse/Partner careers

dotdash

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm curious about other spouses/partners: do you have jobs? demanding careers? are you stay-at-home?

What aspects of your job/career/non-working have served you well as the spouse of a doctor or future doctor? What has been hard or impossible?

(I do not mean to get into a stay-at-home vs. working spouse dichotomy here, but to learn from those who have noticed good or bad ways their own choices mesh with medical professions of their spouses/partners)

Members don't see this ad.

My husband is in residency, and I currently work, but I am planning to stay at home once we have kids. It was really nice to have my income during medical school, so we ended up with a lot less debt than we would have. (Not that we don't have enough as it is... :laugh:)

I work in IT, so I make a little more than a resident's salary. My job isn't very demanding - standard 40 hour work week. During medical school, however, my first job required a lot of travel. We found that to be much too stressful on both of us, since I wasn't around during the week, and he had to work many weekends. Since I got a different job that didn't require a lot of travel, it's been much easier. In fact, a lot of times he was home before I was in the evenings. (He left much earlier than I did in the mornings, though!)

Since residency started, we've been living pretty much like we did in medical school, and saving a lot of his salary. That should help make up for the loss of my income once I start staying at home.