Starting up Step 2

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stockholm

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just got my Step 1 scores last week and was happy that I passed although I only scored around average. So I'm aiming higher on Step 2 and need your help -- Where do I start? I've read some reviews on www.amazon.com that indicate that First Aid Step 2 isn't as useful as it was for Step 1. A lot of people there recommend the "Secrets" series. What do you think? I've been given "Prescription for the Boards Step 2", "NMS", and "PreTest Clinical Vignettes Step 2" from a friend in Minnesota - what other books should I get? I plan to take Step 2 next fall, so I have lots of time...

Also, I'm studying Neurology at the moment. What review books are best for Neuro?

Thanks -

Members don't see this ad.

I am currently studying for the step 2. I already read First Aid for Step 2 and agree that it doesn't cover everything. I have only read the first 100 pages of Prescriptions for teh Boards and it covers many more subjects than First Aid did. I had heard from some residents that they only studied RX for the Boards and did fine. I also bought the NMS book to do questions later. I haven't scheduled my test yet, but since I am doing a rads rotation right now, I fig'd i would study a lil for step 2 since i have the time.

Some people I know say that the secrets series is also good.

Took Step 2 last week.

I like the Kaplan step 2 notes. You can get them on eBay, or if you take the course. Qbank & Qbook are the closest to the real thing.

The only book I read was Rx and a few of the hi-yield series.

NMS is a waste of time since the questions are not the same style as those on the test. The content is OK though, and alot of people like NMS.