Step 1 failure + 1 failed clerkship. How do I come back from this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

owlsandturtles

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a student at a US MD mid-tier school. Unfortunately 3rd year has been really difficult for me so far - I ended up failing Step 1 and also my first clerkship (will show up as an F on transcript). I'll have to redo the clerkship and will also retake Step 1 soon.

Considering I pass and score well on the Step 1 retake, score well on Step 2, and pass all remaining clerkships, what can I expect when applying to residencies? Obviously, I know this is a major red flag but I'm hoping being able to come back from all of this will show resiliency? What else can I do at this point to be a better applicant?

I'm (extremely) interested in Psychiatry and don't really see myself in any speciality outside of that, although I'll obviously go into any speciality that will take me.

Members don't see this ad.

Oof, another Step 1 failure. Well that and a clerkship failure will hurt, especially if that failed clerkship was on psych. What happened?

There's a lot of hypotheticals and assumptions here that makes it hard to give advice. Your goal first and foremost should be to pass on the retake for both Step 1 and the clerkship and make sure you don't fail other rotations.

There may be a chance to match in psych after all that but i'm also going to tag @Mass Effect @Stagg737 for thoughts

Reactions: 3 users
I'm a student at a US MD mid-tier school. Unfortunately 3rd year has been really difficult for me so far - I ended up failing Step 1 and also my first clerkship (will show up as an F on transcript). I'll have to redo the clerkship and will also retake Step 1 soon.