Step 1 in beginning of March?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CavsFan2016

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first-year student at a medical school where we will have to take step 1 by the beginning of March of our second year and start clerkships later on in the same month. This is the first year of a new curriculum. Do you think this will impact my score if everyone else around the country will be taking it 2-3 months after me?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

Don’t mean to derail but what is the advantage of this curriculum? more elective time?

I remember being attracted to schools like this when applying but can’t remember why at all

Don’t mean to derail but what is the advantage of this curriculum? more elective time?

I remember being attracted to schools like this when applying but can’t remember why at all

The pitch to premeds=“earlier and more clinical exposures!” This is useless.
The real benefit=more elective time, both clinical and research. And sometimes people who do a specialty that isn’t a core rotation (ophtho etc) say being on electives early helps.

Oh, and we get ~4 months of vacation between March of 3rd year and May of 4th year (though most people burn 2-4 weeks on CK). I think this is more than you can squeeze out of a traditional 4th year.

OP: You’re already enrolled in the school so no point worrying too much about it now. Just do your best in studying.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
A lot of schools do 1.5 yr preclinical now and take step around that time, it really doesn't make a difference.

Reactions: 1 user
I think it favors those who take it in June / July. Nothing we can do at this point though.