Step 2 CS and Intern Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CrunchyTeddy

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently found out that unfortunately, I failed my step 2 cs. This was a huge shock to me as I’m a 4th yr allopathic student and have done well with SPs throughout my clerkship and sub internships. I’m not terribly worried about the match because all the rank order lists have already been submitted at this point, but I am worried if I’ll be able to start intern year without a passing grade in Step 2 CS. Does anybody know if prelim med or transitional year programs require passing Step 2 CS prior to starting? Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I recently found out that unfortunately, I failed my step 2 cs. This was a huge shock to me as I’m a 4th yr allopathic student and have done well with SPs throughout my clerkship and sub internships. I’m not terribly worried about the match because all the rank order lists have already been submitted at this point, but I am worried if I’ll be able to start intern year without a passing grade in Step 2 CS. Does anybody know if prelim med or transitional year programs require passing Step 2 CS prior to starting? Any help would be much appreciated, thanks!

Does your school allow you to graduate without a passing Step 2 CS? Pretty sure that's the first limiting factor. After that, I'd say yeah, most residencies want you to have a passing CS score to start.

Reactions: 1 user
Does your school allow you to graduate without a passing Step 2 CS? Pretty sure that's the first limiting factor. After that, I'd say yeah, most residencies want you to have a passing CS score to start.
Many schools (including where I am at) do not require CS for graduation... I know Wisconsin might be one of the states that do not require CS for a training license...

Last edited: