Step 3 Impressions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oncomingstorm7

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, thought I would post yet another step 3 experience thread, just to help anyone out who is taking it soon.

Quick background, I am a transitional year resident going into radiology. Previous scores were 251 on step 1 and 260 on step 2ck. I had easy electives in the 2 months preceding the test and used my free time to study. Personally I used UW Qbank/CCS, MTB3, and DIT Step 3 to study. I took the NBME CCMSA approx 1 week out and got 680 on that.

Day 1:
This day was somewhat surprising for me. It had a lot more basic science/step 1 type stuff then I expected. Drug mechanisms of action/classification of pathogens/histology were some of the stuff that stood out. Often there would be a normal clinical stem then they would ask some basic science related question about the disease/treatment/pathogen instead of the more typical questions I was used to seeing in UW.

There was a decent amount of biostats, but not an overwhelming amount. I tend to do well on these questions in UW, so it's possible they just don't stand out for me as much. Also a decent amount of ethics type questions with some scenarios I hadn't seen before, but most were still straightforward. Nearly every block had a research abstract or drug ad, but the questions on these tended to be softballs compared to UW.

Another thing to mention, questions stems were long. It is a slog to get through everything in time. I was cutting it close on several blocks, though I never ran out of time or had to guess. There were times I had to hurry though, which could have lead to some misses. I never have issues with time on practice sets, so this was different.

Day 2: