Strength of Undergraduate Institution When Applying to Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pazzer2

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm a US trained MD (graduated in the 1990s) and am shocked how difficult it is to get into medical school now. Back in my day, it was common to apply to 6-8 schools. Now I hear that applying to 20-30 schools is quite common. When I applied a 3.7/60 MCAT was an almost guarantee. Things appear to be a lot more difficult now.

As a physician, I routinely get barraged by friends and family whose kids want to go to medical school. I generally give the advice that going to a prestigious undergrad school is generally not worth it. Mainly because from my own medical school class, there were kids from lots of schools - from Ivy league to small colleges. In general I also tell them to avoid colleges known for deflation (UChicago, Princeton, MIT, etc). My understanding is that med school admissions committees don't give any extra weight to college prestige. So does this advice still hold? Would love to hear your thoughts on the matter. Are there any official stats (from AMCAS or other) places to support these views?
  1. Are GPAs from prestigious colleges treated differently vs GPA from obscure college?
  2. All things being equal (GPA/MCAT) is it better to attend a college where there are relatively few applying to med school vs a larger university?
  3. Within the same university, assume two candidates with same MCAT score. But one is an engineering major (GPA 3.3) which is fairly high for that major vs a Biochem major (GPA 3.8). Would admissions committees give any extra boost to the GPA of the engineering major (because it is known to be deflating)?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hello,