Stress/Depression in Medical Students/Residents?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EJK014

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a 4th-year pre-med college student about to graduate soon. As I'm finishing my undergraduate degree and thinking about medical school, I starting thinking more about an ideal future career in medicine. I'm not talking about the stress of taking classes & the cost of med school, but rather how being a resident/doctor will affect my mental health. This got me thinking - what exactly causes medical residents/doctors to be so stressed out or depressed?

As an assignment, I had gathered & analyzed multiple research papers to analyze the correlation between contributing factors toward "burnout" in medical residents (aka stress and depression) and levels of cognitive thinking/moral reasoning. The results showed a significant relationship between medical residents feeling loss of personal satisfaction & positive emotions with decreased cognitive thinking skills. Overall, the main contributing factor for stress was long work hours, followed by high patient workload.

I wanted to know, what are your thoughts on this? I know there's a lot of medical professions out there, each with its own specific types of job responsibilities & levels of demand for patient care, but in general, what would you say stresses residents/doctors out the most when working in a hospital setting?

Members don't see this ad.

I think some of it stems from pursuing a career for the wrong reasons. If you become a physician out of your own ambition you can overcome a lot of obstacles. However, if you were pushed by family, prestige, etc. it becomes depressing. Stress is a mind state and an outlook on life and the situations it presents.