Strong GPA and MCAT score- little clinical experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

premedgirl04

Reaction score
I am applying this coming 24/25 cycle. I currently go to undergraduate school in New England and would like to stay there. Being that I would prefer to go to an osteopathic school, UNECOM is my top medical school. I have a GPA of 3.85 and an MCAT score of 510. I have a ton of leadership experience. I also have a lot of volunteer hours and am a volunteer with the crisis text line. I have been in a research lab since freshman year (around 600 hours), but I do not have any publications. I have around 50 shadowing hours (I will be getting at least 10 more before I apply as well). I have around 450 hours of community service. I am an undergraduate TA for biology and I do have a job as a laboratory assistant. However, I am lacking clinical experience. I am certified as a phlebotomist, but with classes and not being able to afford the class till this past summer, I have not been able to get any hours. I will have only around 50 hours when I apply (maybe even less like 35-40). Do you think that I will still be able to get into an osteopathic medical school? Or do I have almost no chance and should wait till the next cycle?

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to the forums.

How long have you been working as a phlebotomist? I don't understand how you can be certified but not afford the course. I would encourage you to use your skills or else you will lose them.

What does your community service entail?

Have you shadowed DO's? Did you grow up in Maine, Vermont, or New Hampshire? Have you attended any recruitment events (on campus or virtual) that UNECOM or other DO programs (like NYCOM or LECOM) host?

What advice have you received from your prehealth advising team?

Members don't see this ad :)
Welcome to the forums.