Structured Post-Bacc even worth it? Need advice 3.74 cGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

midnightmd2

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
To anyone who has done a structured post-bacc, what did you gain from it that you couldn't have gotten with a DIY approach, and was it worth the fees?

I graduated in 2018 after having taken zero science or math classes... like none. I did get a 3.74 cGPA though. I have been doing research at a military medical center since graduation so I do have research experience. I also just took Biology I and II at a community college and got A's in both. But I have done no shadowing and have limited clinical experience.

I need to take the rest of the chem, physics, etc. courses required, and have been so torn between a DIY which is very cheap and can be from a reputable institution like Harvard's Extension School, or doing a formal program that comes with a committee letter, potential linkage, and the advising.

What do!!!!!??

Structured post-bacc vs. DIY post-bacc?

Members don't see this ad.

To anyone who has done a structured post-bacc, what did you gain from it that you couldn't have gotten with a DIY approach, and was it worth the fees?

I graduated in 2018 after having taken zero science or math classes... like none. I did get a 3.74 cGPA though. I have been doing research at a military medical center since graduation so I do have research experience. I also just took Biology I and II at a community college and got A's in both. But I have done no shadowing and have limited clinical experience.

I need to take the rest of the chem, physics, etc. courses required, and have been so torn between a DIY which is very cheap and can be from a reputable institution like Harvard's Extension School, or doing a formal program that comes with a committee letter, potential linkage, and the advising.

What do!!!!!??