Struggling First Year pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorhoot

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman bio major pre-med student. I'm currently taking biology, chem, and calc I (and another elective), but I'm really struggling in biology.
I took AP bio and got a 4 on the exam, but for this class on the first test I got an 80% after studying more than 10 hours specifically for the exam, and an 87% on the second exam after studying more than 15 hours.
On quizzes I am consistently scoring B minuses, and I'm starting to get worried about my GPA and how that may affect future med school applications.

Any tips or suggestions on how I can improve in bio?

Clarification: the studying was spread over 3 days

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
15 hours? Study more. And more in advance. Take the night before to review and relax.

Reactions: 2 users
You aren't actually doing that bad for essentially waiting until the last moment to prepare. But yea agree w/ @Mclovin0351

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Specific numbers aside, it makes a big difference whether those hours are all at once or spread out over time

I'm currently a freshman bio major pre-med student. I'm currently taking biology, chem, and calc I (and another elective), but I'm really struggling in biology.
I took AP bio and got a 4 on the exam, but for this class on the first test I got an 80% after studying more than 10 hours specifically for the exam, and an 87% on the second exam after studying more than 15 hours.
On quizzes I am consistently scoring B minuses, and I'm starting to get worried about my GPA and how that may affect future med school applications.

Studying 10-15 hours for one test is nothing, seriously. I averaged at 30 hours per test to get the grades I wanted.

1. Start studying earlier if you can