Struggling Premed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

siesta786

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a sophomore at UC Berkeley. I've recently declared legal studies as a major, mostly because it didn't seem competitive to get into, and I failed most of the classes I took my freshman year. I've always really wanted to be a doctor, but there's no way I see myself taking the medical school prerequisites at Berkeley. I've looked at various forums on post bacc premed programs, but I'm wondering if someone could give a sense of how competitive they are to get into. I'm trying to graduate early from Berkeley by taking classes at my local community college. I have a 2.5 GPA currently, my SAT score was 2070, my ACT 31.

Members don't see this ad.

2.5 GPA as a just starting sophomore isn't the end of the world, but you need to make adjustments quickly and aggressively.

What caused you to fail? You have decent college entrance scores, so you may have breezed through high school. If that's the case, you should go talk to your academic advisor and find resources for improving your study skills. If it's something else, you need to identify and fix it before you make a serious plan to get back in the premed game.

It's waaaaaay too early for you to be thinking about post-bacc programs. You have 3 years to improve your grades at Berkeley. To put it to you more directly, any medical school will be harder than Berkeley. If you can find a way to make it work there you'll be more prepared for a future in medicine.

3 years is plenty of time. Lots of people go on tears where they get straight A's after a bad start. I had 2.3 when I first started and got it up to a 3.7.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)