Struggling with exams, UWorld doesn't seem to help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ukdavis23

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a third year student, I've been struggling with academics and exam taking in med school since I started back in 2014. I had to repeat a year, failed a couple didactics, passed COMLEX level 1 with 492 but failed USMLE step 1. Our school has us take shelf exams of old USMLE step 2 questions and makes us score above 5 percentile. I found out today I failed the OB shelf and now I'm back in the same rut I've always been since starting med school of what my problem is.

I spend the OB rotation studying mostly off Kaplan and UWorld Qbank, but honestly I think Uworld doesn't really help me, it just overwhelms me because of how difficult and beyond the scope of the exam their questions are. I got by in med school by condensing notes into my own form and studying notes more than Qbanks, and I'm wondering if that style would work better for me on shelves then doing Uworld? I generally study very differently than most of my classmates and I don't really think doing tons of Uworld questions really helps me as much as other people.

My question is, does anybody else feel this way about Uworld? And if so what resources do you use? I'm very frustrated with how I've continue to just scrape by in med school and I'm literally at the bottom of my class and its too the point I've failed so much I almost expect stuff like this to happen... Any advice would be appreciated, especially with Level 2 COMLEX and shelf studying.

Members don't see this ad.