Stuck and confused

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zqn859

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! Currently I identify myself as pre-med but recently I seem to go everyday with this overwhelming feeling that I'm biting off more than I can chew and maybe this isn't the correct career path for me. In high school I always took business electives and figured I would go to college and pursue a degree in advertising or somewhere along those lines. I realized that business or advertising isn't something I am actually interested in or something I could see myself dedicating my life to. I figured a business degree was an easy way out and never in a million years would I have imagined I'd be studying pre-med. I've always been fascinated with skin and I really started to take interest in becoming a dermatologist. However as an undergrad sophomore, I'm starting to feel like my goals are unrealistic and it stresses me out on a daily basis. I am not by any means the smartest student, I have always been above average but there are still people with much better grades than me. Currently my GPA is about a 3.3. However, I have always taken pride in being an extremely hard worker. Recently I am starting to wonder if perhaps optometry school would suit me better. It doesn't feel like it would be "settling" for a career, I do take interest in optometry, however it seems it would be a more realistic option. Everyone keeps telling me to just finish my undergrad first and then I can choose a career path but I don't believe that's the greatest advice. If I want to apply to either of these schools I need volunteer hours or a job in the field, so I feel like I should take action now. I was just hoping to receive some advice from anyone who may have been in my shoes before or has any insight. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.