Student entitlement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pragma

Neuropsychologist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I thought I would start a thread about this broad topic after recently seeing more references to our entitled youth in another thread.

My question is this - what is the nature of the entitlement that people observe? This could be in doctoral programs or the classes you are teaching.

My curiosity comes out of some experiences and thoughts I've had lately as a faculty member. For example, everyone always harps on the younger students entering college and talk about how lazy and entitled they are - and that sterotype has persisted with good reason. However, I've had some interesting experiences teaching master's-level students lately. Some of the most obnoxious students I have encountered are the "older" students. They are working full time, have kids, are coming back for a new career, etc - and basically list all of these as reasons for why my class is one of their lowest priorities. Disproportionately, some of these older students seek extensions, demand that I reconsider my grading, ask for "special consideration," etc.

Now, nontraditional students have historically been my favorite students. But after this year, I can't help but wonder if there is a different form of entitlement that we don't spend time talking about, as we're busy complaining about the youth of America. While I try to be as understanding as possible, I am not about to give anybody special treatment. The trend I saw this year (my first year in a TT job) within our master's programs was for most of the headaches to come from the older students. Maybe it will be different next year.