Student loan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ghee21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm planning to go to pharmacy school. Can you tell me what's the average total student loan I might have after finishing pharm D? I'm kind of worried.
I graduated with a BS in nutrition. Should I go for pharmacy school? I'm kind of worried about having a huge debt. Is it worth it to go to pharmacy school?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. I'm planning to go to pharmacy school. Can you tell me what's the average total student loan I might have after finishing pharm D? I'm kind of worried.
I graduated with a BS in nutrition. Should I go for pharmacy school? I'm kind of worried about having a huge debt. Is it worth it to go to pharmacy school?

it's about 20k per semester. you do the math
that plus the interest because i'm sure after 6 years, there wont be any jobs left. it could take you way more than the 10 year plan to pay it off.
I also hear they may be adding another year to the program.
so in short, yes, you will be in insurmountable debt and most likely without a job

Me and classmates are borrowing around 55k per yr with interest from 6-8%

Members don't see this ad :)
If you lived in CA like me, it's gonna be expensive no matter what. Other states have more reasonable in-state tuition,but it is still gonna be expensive. I'm looking at about $150,000 in debt at the end of my four years unless I am able to make significantly more money that what I'm currently expecting.

If pharmacy is something that excites you, it is totally worth it. If you're just doing it for a cushy job and a pay check, eh you can still do it, but it isn't what it used to be.

A classified came across this morning for a RX manager position. Compensation at $35/hr.

Don't do it. JUST.DON'T.

Hahaha. I already bought dr. Collins. Can't believe it's that expensive!! :(

Members don't see this ad :)