Study Abroad

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dania2016

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I'm a sophomore pre-vet student and I am trying to study abroad next semester. Unfortunately my school is very small and the study abroad department wasn't very helpful when I contacted them. So, here I am! I wanted to hear if anyone studied abroad and what program they did, what association they used, etc. Would love to know if you guys enjoyed it, if the program offered a lot of opportunities, internships, etc.

Since my school is small, I would love to study abroad in a university that offers courses in livestock science, equine science and the like.

Thanks for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

I did, but it was a program set up through my school so I'm not sure I have recommendations for programs to go through. However, I highly recommend it as an experience if you can manage it. I went for my entire junior year of college and it honestly it was probably one of my favorite years to date when looking back on it. Met some great people and traveled to some great places. I also fell in love with traveling and learned a lot about myself.

As for the courses, I wouldn't worry too much about finding a place that specifically offers those. Plenty of people get into vet school without them (myself included). If you're looking for the hands on experience side of things, just look during breaks and such. If trying to take courses to stay on track for graduation, etc, I'd just make sure that they can be transferred and match the required credits. I took microbiology abroad and while it transferred to my school fine, the credits ended up being different so I would have had to retake it to apply to certain vet schools.

Members don't see this ad :)