Summer before Vet School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WildZooVet2014

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, I guess this is mostly for current VetMed students. I was just accepted into Vet School and am wondering how I can better prepare myself for the rigors associated with this chosen professional discipline. Most of my background is in wildlife rehabilitation and I have little to know experience with physiology of domestics. Would you suggest to read up on the common VetMed stuff prior to starting classes? Or will they teach me everything I need to know? Sorry if this is a silly question, I'm just concerned that I'm not as prepared as everyone else.

Members don't see this ad.

We have this thread every year, and every year the current vet students' answer is RELAX AND ENJOY YOURSELF BECAUSE YOU'LL DO ENOUGH STUDYING IN THE FALL!!!! ;)

Yeah, I plan on sitting around with my boyfriend all summer watching movies. Seriously, we're going to be hitting the books HARD for four years. And after graduation, we roll right into a career. Enjoy those last few months to the fullest! :thumbup: You were accepted. You can do it!

Members don't see this ad :)
My bf and I are renting a house with a pool so I plan on spending most of my free time hours out there pleasure reading trashy fiction and catching some sun.

I do think I am going to get these flashcards a SDN vet student recommended to brush up on my technical terms. It has been 8+ years for me on my anatomy and physiology classes.
http://www.amazon.com/Saunders-Vete...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1269446748&sr=1-1

Hmm but those can be studied by the pool:cool:

Hand- those flashcards sound like a great idea!
I will be moving in august but after classes are over in may I am leasing a horse for the summer..yay for learning how to riding English!