Summer Medical and Dental Education Program - a good summer extracurricular?

• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

shindotp

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Is this program worth the same weight as most other summer (more research oriented) programs?

I'm debating whether or not to apply to this. I think if I decided to do MD/PhD then this program would be a big waste of time that I could have spent doing a purely research summer program...

I'm a freshman by the way.

ponybreeder4

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Dec 19, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
i did it last summer and thought it was an amazing experience that i can talk about for hours. it varies by site, but where i did it we were talk a lot about he disparities in healthcare which i feel is very important. SMDEP is run through the aamc, so its pretty obvious med schools know about it. im ambassador for it now, so feel free to pm me if you have questions

About the Ads

shindotp

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Apr 2, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
I'm sure it'd be a great experience, but how would it compare against someone who spent the summer doing biomedical research?

scarletgirl777

10+ Year Member
Mar 25, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I'm sure it'd be a great experience, but how would it compare against someone who spent the summer doing biomedical research?

I didn't do that program because of concerns like that. Obviously, SMDEP shows a serious and early interest in medicine, but meaningful research can be so huge. My understanding of this program is that no project comes out of it, but that there are opportunities for shadowing and mini-classes you can take in preparation for your premedical coursework...if you can turn your summer into a meaningful project, I would strongly think about doing research.