surgical matricectomy - post procedure pain

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stoic

"Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted"
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey guys -

i'm a second year medical student and long time SDN'er. i've got a quesion about the amount of pain pt's experience post surgical partial matricectomy w/partial nail bed removal. it's my understanding that if they can do the procedure with chemical/electro matrix ablation that it's not nearly as painful but if a true surgical matricectomy w/nailbed removal is required that the first few post-op days are very painful.

i ask for personal reasons; this is a procedure that i need done and am trying to fit into my schedule. i'd like to get the scoop from you guys so that i can figure out just how much this will slow me down. how long are patients usually on narcotics? how powerful of narcotics are needed (ie will i be able to get any studying done at all while on them).

anyway, i appriciate any info you can give me. i'm also not entirely clear on the indication of for the chemical nail matrix ablation vs. surgical matrix excision?

thanks again,
dave

Members don't see this ad.

stoic said:
hey guys -

i'm a second year medical student and long time SDN'er. i've got a quesion about the amount of pain pt's experience post surgical partial matricectomy w/partial nail bed removal. it's my understanding that if they can do the procedure with chemical/electro matrix ablation that it's not nearly as painful but if a true surgical matricectomy w/nailbed removal is required that the first few post-op days are very painful.