Surgical opportunities as an intern

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drmrsobgyn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Question: I am a month into my obgyn internship year. In terms of gynecology surgical cases, I have been assigned to minors in the outpatient surgery center usually hysteroscopy with polypectomy/endometrial ablation/d&c. In terms of major cases, as an intern I am only allowed to manipulate the uterus on total hysterectomies. Is this normal on the gynecology? Are interns in other programs doing more than this on the gyn service? Wondering if this is a program-specific issue. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Question: I am a month into my obgyn internship year. In terms of gynecology surgical cases, I have been assigned to minors in the outpatient surgery center usually hysteroscopy with polypectomy/endometrial ablation/d&c. In terms of major cases, as an intern I am only allowed to manipulate the uterus on total hysterectomies. Is this normal on the gynecology? Are interns in other programs doing more than this on the gyn service? Wondering if this is a program-specific issue. Thanks
Sounds like my program

hi @BigTumor ! I'm a med student interested in MFM, and would love to chat with you via PM about applying to residency.

Members don't see this ad :)