Surgical residency and family life

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FourthTime

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm only an MS1, but am seriously considering a surgical career given my affinity for gross anatomy (and other things...). I'm married now and will probably have children by the time I enter residency. My question is: how much free time does a surgical resident get during a 5 year general surgery residency? Is it possible to be a surgical resident and a "dad" too? I'd love to hear from anyone out there doing it with kids (or know others who are).

Members don't see this ad.

I'm only an M-3, but having almost completed the surgery rotation, I can tell you that it's pretty rough on residents. Even the senior residents are on call every third night, and as a student, I've been working 85-100 hours per week (they consistently work at least 5-10 hours more than I do per week).

If you love it, it's worth it. From my standpoint, I couldn't get paid enough money to deal with this sort of lifestyle. It really sucks. One of the interns started late June, and has had two days off... never a weekday, so he still hasn't taken care of business properly (ie just bought a bed, etc...) Almost two months!

Anyway, glad that someone wants to do it.

Most of my fellow residents are married and several have children. I obviously cannot comment on the effectiveness of their parenting, but agree with others that it must be incredibly difficult.