Switching from career in Engineering to Vet Med?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

t3nchi

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I graduated with an EE degree from UT Austin. Finished 2nd year working but thinking about getting into the vet med field. Anyone ever made the transition? What do I need to do to make this transition?

I probably have to go back to school to finish some core classes that are required to entrace to vet schools. I have to study for the GRE, have all these volunteer hours and experience, apply etc.

Seems straightforward. Or is it.

I am thinking I should spend some time now trying to get to know what it's like to be a vet. I probably should try to volunteer at a vet clinic and see what vets do. Anyone volunteered in a vet clinic? What do vets do? Did you like it? Why?

Please share with me all your knowledge and experiences. Thanks!!

Members don't see this ad.

You really need to work in a vet clinic (or shadow) to get a real taste for it. I would try to get a variety of expereince before you apply. If you are just trying to see if you like vet med talk to vet clinics in your area and see if you can come shadow for a day--that will give you some idea of the profession if you want to practice. If you don't want to practice there are many other options research, food industry, etc.

I have volunteered and worked with several different vets. All experiences were very different--I worked with small animal, large animal, alternative medicine, behavior/shelter, and at a zoo. Each setting was different and there are things I liked and didn't about each setting PM if you want info for a specific experience.