Switching Residencies - Timing and Consequences

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RothIRA

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year resident in a surgical subspecialty that I am unhappy with. I figured this out early and reapplied to ERAS and rematched as a PGY1 at a new program in another specialty that is completely unrelated. My program was initially very supportive of this decision, but now it is toward the end of my intern year and the hazing and nastiness has started. Call was heaped onto my schedule. Nasty comments are made on a daily basis. Scutwork has become the norm and I haven't set foot in an OR in 6 months. I am subject to derogatory comments daily about how I am a traitor. I can't do my job properly. I'm more miserable than I have ever been and on medications, but I told my program I would stay until the end out of obligation.

The only problem is, I have used up all my vacation during interview season and now I can't leave this current program before my new one starts. My PD is threatening me and saying I can't leave a single day early, otherwise there will be a mark on my record. My initial thought was, "Who cares? I could disappear and consider the year a wash. I applied like any other M4, and they're off doing god-knows-what." My reviews are above-average and I've never been in any disciplinary action. He said that my licensure and future employment would be jeopardized because he would have to disclose that I didn't finish the year (48 weeks out of 52). I'm going to complete another residency, so what's the big deal? Thew new residency is fine with me leaving the current one, by the way--they were surprised I stayed at all.

My question is, has anyone ever been in the same situation? Has declaring that you did not finish a program in an unrelated field affected your licensure, promotions, employment, fellowship opportunities, or anything at all?