Switching

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UncleJessie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a general surgery resident, and I've decided that I am no longer interested in that specialty. The OR has completely lost its previous glamour (i'd frankly rather just get the floor work done and go home), and I'm tired of being on call every third night. I'm tired of malignant personalities and snarky fellow residents.

That being said, I don't want to completely throw away the past two years of my life. I'm currently beginning my second year. While I'd ideally like to know if there are any programs that will take me as a second year, I'd also love to know if there are any programs that have open first year spots for me to switch to.

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

The match and scramble are over, and the new interns started almost a month ago. So, you're a little late to the party.

There's a good chance that there are still unfilled PGY-1 slots. No easy way to know where, however. I suggest you talk with your P.D. You'll need his/her help to make the switch.

our program recently gave a 2 yr surg resident 9 months credit.

I had to do the ol' switcheroo as well. here is what I did. Located the programs I wanted and "cold called" them. email actually.

worked beautifully, I love where I am. Not only is the program nice and great facilities, but it is also a part of the country the bodes well for my active lifestyle.

In all honesty, I care most about doing the activities I love. That was the main thing I looked for. (I race Lance Armstrong in a few weeks, I decided to forgo my age group win teheheh)

it just so happens I totally lucked out. awesome pay, pushing the limits of vacation days, great modern facility, and premium location if you like trail running, mtn biking, road cycling, hiking, climbing....I could go on and on....

good luck!

Last edited: