This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sugaboogie

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to SDN and hoping to get some sage advice.

My husband just finished EM residency and is a new attending. I'm working in government and have an MPH degree. We need to pay down our student loan debt. Combined with our undergrad, grad and medical school loans, we have about $405K in debt. My loan interest rates are 6.25% and my husband's are 6.5%. We have already done consolidation with FedLoans and I signed up for PSLF. I already have 2/10 years of qualifying PSLF payments.

Now our combined income before taxes is approx. $360K. Now that our income has gone up significantly due to promotion for me and new attending salary, and with the uncertainty of PSLF, what are others in similar situations doing to pay off exorbitant student loan debt?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Welcome to SDN and congrats on the new job.

No one knows what will happen with PSLF for doctors. If its going to be cut, one would imagine that doctors who earn a lot more than the average person would be the first to be considered for an exclusion clause. The first batch of people who would have ever qualified for PSLF will potentially have debt forgiven next month. We will see what happens.

A good website to see what the payment plans would be like for you is StudentLoans.gov

There you can plan with all the government plans and repayment options, including PSLF. I've typed in all your info and for REPAYE this is what you get.

First Monthly Payment
$2,797
Last Monthly Payment
$4,403
Total Amount Paid
$425,679
Public Service Loan Forgiveness
$183,484
Repayment Period
120 month

Compare that to the standard plan.

First Monthly Payment
$4,558
Last Monthly Payment
$4,558
Total Amount Paid
$546,910
-
Repayment Period
120 months