Taking prereqs at Junior College

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gonzo12164

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just recently graduated from UC Irvine with an Electrical Engineering degree, cum GPA of 3.712, Cum Laude. For various reasons I've decided to pursue a career in medicine. I've already taken the gchem, physics, and math courses and have gotten mostly A's and a couple A-'s. I still need to take all the Bio and Ochem classes. However, I am confident that I will do well in hopefully all of them. I am currently in 20K debt from college and simply can not afford taking more classes at UC Irvine. I decided to finish the prereqs at a Junior college which are ALL UC transferable according to assist.org. If I took these classes at a JC, would I be looked down by medical schools even though I have a degree from a UC school in a very difficult major? Do I still have a chance to get into Cal schools or any school if I do well on my MCAT? My involvements were President of my Fraternity, in Eta Kappa Nu and Tau Beta Pi Eng. Honor Societies, on SPOP(student parent orientation program) staff, volunteered in the Clinical Care Extender Program at Hoag Hospital, and a SAGE scholar which included a scholarship and internship as an engineer. Please help with some advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Gonzo12164 said: