Teaching alternative therapies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

etim

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi folks---- I was looking through your jobs listings, trying to find a proper spot for mine...below's a copy of my intro that may help explain what I'm up to :

Hi- I'm a physician (MD) specializing in what's being called integrative or complementary medicine- a mix of mainstream and alternative approaches.

I'm interested in working with other physicians to train them in a variety of alternative approaches to treating patients, and helping them develop their practice, clinic and staff to handle the increased patient loads.

This is a new approach in a new (but quickly growing) field; any ideas, aid or suggestions from you folks would be much appreciated!

Thanks, Tim Simmons MD <A href="mailto:[email protected]"></A>
<a href="http://altdoc.250x.com" target="_blank">http://altdoc.250x.com</a>

Members don't see this ad.

Dr. Simmons

The field you refer to is far from new, but is only now being accepted by mainstream medicine. You may want to look at Thomas Jefferson University or Dartmouth Medical School. Both of these schools have fledgling integrative medicine programs. TJU tries to hide it a bit actually, so you might have to snoop around a little to get all the info. You might want to check out the program Dr Weil set up at U of Arizona as well. His is mainly geared towards doctors already in their practices however, and is far from comprehensive.

Many of the high presteige schools such as Harvard have a few electives on integrative medicine, but these are largely just window dressing. If you want to teach how to do it you will need to just test the waters at a few different institutions (or try working through one of the programs I mentioned above).