Terrible GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scaredddd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've been calculating my Science GPA all wrong because I thought C+s were 2.5 (GPA) not 2.3.

Now I have no choice but to get all As from now on in Science classes.

Is it possible? Should I take a ****load of science classes to make up for it?

Members don't see this ad.

What year are you? In any way, you're fighting a difficult uphill battle, but your hills gonna be tremendously steeper as a junior second semester than a freshman first semester...

How many credits have you taken yet? It might still be possible to get an acceptable GPA if the number of credits is low, but if your undergrad career is well on... aim for DO grade replacement.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a sophomore.
And, if I got As until the end of senior year, I could have a 3.5.

But, I don't think I can do it. I've been doing so bad for 2 years after all.

I'm a sophomore.

Only you can really know whether you can get A's from now on. Go to office hours, stay after class, utilize study groups, get a tutor, make a study schedule, etc. do whatever you need to do well.

There have been many students who did badly at first, but with an upward academic trend, and an otherwise solid app (including solid mcat), are accepted to med school. Good luck.

Reactions: 1 users
Freshman Science GPA: 2.74
Sophomore (So Far): 2.2
^ I failed Orgo and am taking the entire sequence this summer, shooting for all As. I also just took 2 science classes this year, taking more next quarter. I go on quarter system and am taking a LOT more classes in the next two years. Kind of a quarter system advantage?

I'm a sophomore.