the DAT is OVER! finally!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

superman

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
wow, i can't believe the DATs are over for me. first of all, i thank God, and i thank all of you on SDN for the great advice- i wouldn't have been able to do well on the DAT without you guys- for real. i've been reading the posts for a while, and now it's time for me to help others by sharing about my experience.

at first, i thought that i was going to do horribly on this test, because i only got 30 mins. of sleep last night. thirty blasted minutes! but then the adrenaline kicked in, i drank a red bull, and i was pretty alert throughout the test.

Academic Average: 22
PAT: 19
Ochem: 29
Bio: 20
Gchem: 20
RC: 23
QR: 20
Total science: 21

to prepare for the DAT, i studied for 2 months and during those two months i really just focused on the DAT. i took the Kaplan course, used my college textbooks a little bit, & took a few Topscore tests. i thought that the kaplan book, like everyone says, was essential. memorize it- seriously. i read that book 2 times and wrote notes on it the first time through. also, i am glad that i took the kaplan course. although the live classes are not that helpful (except for a PAT tip i learned that helped me), kaplan's materials (subject tests & explanations, practice tests on computer, etc.) are extremely helpful. the materials have some info that the kaplan book does not. the flashcards that kaplan gives you are essential. they are such a great review, especially right before the test. as for the scores i used to get on the kaplan practice tests, i used to get around 18-20 for Bio, 15-18 for Gchem, 18-20 for Ochem, 16-18 for QR, 18-20 for RC, and 23's consistently for PAT.